Professional Recognition

Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants (HKICPA)

The HKICPA Qualification Program (QP) is a comprehensive training programme that provides the knowledge and skills necessary to become a CPA. QP builds on an accounting degree and progresses to course work and examinations. Graduates of the MSAC program will be eligible to enroll into the HKICPA QP. Also students are required to fulfill the QP entry requirement of the following seven basic subjects at undergraduate level:

HKICPA QP major areasCourse to meet QP requirement
Accounting ACCT 2010 Principles of Accounting I

ECON 2103 Principles of Microeconomics
ECON 2123 Macroeconomics

Information Systems ISOM 2010 Introduction to Information Systems
Management MGMT 1110 Introduction to Management
Marketing MARK 2120 Marketing Management
Statistics ISOM 2500 Business Statistics

Students who have not studied the required major areas before should take the corresponding subjects at the HKUST Business School in order to meet the QP requirement. Students will be charged an extra fee of HK$10,000 per course for taking the undergraduate basic courses at HKUST.

Graduate of the MSAC program are eligible for direct entry to the HKICPA QP, provided that they have taken and passed all the MSAC core courses and the prescribed elective courses - ACCT 5220 International Treasury Management, ACCT 5410 Taxation, ACCT 5630 Business Law and ACCT 5640 Company Law, required by HKICPA.

For other detail information about this accreditation, please click here.

Other Accreditations

The MSAC program is already accredited by different professional bodies in accounting area which include:

Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA)

The MSAC program has been accredited by the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) and exemptions will be granted to MSAC graduates for the following papers:

  • Business and Technology (BT)
  • Management Accounting (MA)
  • Financial Accounting (FA)
  • Corporate and Business Law (LW)
  • Performance Management (PM)
  • Taxation (TX)
  • Financial Reporting (FR)
  • Audit and Assurance (AA)

MSAC graduates can continue to complete the ACCA exam of Financial Management (FM), Strategic Professional level and Ethics & Professional Skills Module.

For further information, please ACCA website here.




CPA Australia

The graduates of MSAC program will be granted for the exemptions for the following papers and can gain direct entry to the exam of Professional level#:

  • Foundations of Accounting
  • Economics and Markets
  • Fundamentals of Business Law
  • Business Finance
  • Financial Accounting and Reporting
  • Management Accounting

#Students who wish to apply for the exemption of CPA Australia foundation exams shall take the related undergraduate elective courses in Economics, Information Technology and Quantitative Methods during MSAC program studies.

For other detail information about this accreditation, please click here.




Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA)



CIMA professional qualification comprises three pillars of domain knowledge divided into three levels of achievements. The pillars are enterprise, performance and financial, and the levels are operational, management and strategic.

The graduates of MSAC program are being granted for exemptions for 11 papers, including BA1-BA4 of certificate BA level , Operational Case Study exam in operational level and the following papers:

Operational LevelManagement Level 
E1 Managing Finance in a Digital World E2 Managing Performance  
P1 Management Accounting P2 Advanced Management Accounting  
F1 Financial Reporting F2 Advanced Financial Reporting  

MSAC students can start with the “Management Case Study Exam” from Management Level.

The CGMA® Finance Leadership Program is a new competency-based digital learning experience and a pathway to earn the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA) Professional Qualification and the Chartered Global Management Accountant (CGMA) designation.*

* MSAC students can start at Management Level during their university study.

 For more information, please click here.




The Association of International Accountants(AIA)

The Association of International Accountants (AIA) is a leading professional body for accountants and finance professionals with a long-standing reputation for excellence in professional education and a dynamic global membership.

The graduates of MSAC program are being granted for exemptions for the 9 following papers:

Foundation Level

  • Financial Accounting
  • Management Accounting
  • Corporate Governance and Audit
  • Business Management


Professional 1 Level

  • Financial Accounting and Reporting 1
  • Principles of Governance and Audit
  • Management Accounting
  • Business Law for Accountants 
  • Taxation (UK)


MSAC graduates can continue to complete the AIA exam at Professional 2 level.

For further information, please AIA website here.